Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Oceania > Nauru


Yearbook 2019

Nauru. According to CountryAAH, the parliamentary elections held in August meant a fresh start by losing about half of its members. Among them was President Baron Waqa, who has been in office since 2013. It is the parliament that appoints the head of state among the 19 members. In the vote following the election, David Adeang was defeated by Lionel Aingimea, who thus took office as new president. In the government appointed by Aingimea, he himself took care of the post of Foreign Minister. All the other six ministers were newly elected to Parliament.

2019 Nauru

In May, former president Sprent Dabwido died of cancer, only 46 years old. It was during Dabwido's time as president, 2011-13, that the decision to reopen the Australian refugee camp in Nauru was made, which he later regretted. Dabwido was one of the leaders of the opposition group Nauru 19, whose members were brought to trial following protests outside the parliament building in 2015. The government continued to pursue the case even after a judge ordered it to close the case because the accused were not considered able to get a fair trial.

Other Countries in Oceania

Countries Nearby Copyright 2011 - 2020 All Rights Reserved