Poitou-Charentes and Provence-Alpes-C te d Azur, France

Poitou-Charentes (France)

One of the 26 regions of France is Poitou-Charentes. It is located in the west of the country and is made up of the four Departments of Charente, Charente-Maritime, Deux-Servres and Vienne together. 1.64 million people live on a total area of ​​25,810 square kilometers. This makes the region one of the most heavily populated in France. The capital of the region is Poitiers.

History of the Poitou-Charentes region

Until 1789 the area belonged to the present day region of Poitou-Charentes one of the historic provinces of France. When the program regions were set up in 1960, the new Poitou-Charentes region was born. She is one of the 26RegionsFrance and has existed since then within the borders drawn at that time. Like the other regions, Poitou-Charentes received the status of an establishment public in 1972 and was thus subordinate to a regional prefect. Through the elaborated decentralization laws, which came into effect in 1982, the regions received the status of a local authority. Thus it was possible that the regional councils of the individual regions could be determined directly in 1986 by a choice of the population. The other rights and obligations have also been steadily expanded, and so the regions have expanded powers vis-à-vis the central government in Paris.

Tourist and sightseeing in the Poitou-Charentes region

Poitou-Charentes is in a favorable geographical position. Because the area extends along the beautiful Atlantic coast, which of course makes the area extremely popular with vacationers and tourists. The entire labor market benefits from the services of the tourist facilities.

The holiday area is very popular and also family-friendly. The wonderful landscapes of the coastal areas make dreamy days possible. Life here is also very pleasant due to the favorable climate. The mild temperatures also ensure that tourism can take place here all year round. In the hinterland, guests will find particularly beautiful hiking trails and proper hiking and cycling routes for excursions and trips into the “wilderness”. The sunsets on the beach are also very romantic. Then the evening sun colors the whole area in a gold-colored shell and creates a particularly beautiful ambience.

Not only the fine sandy beaches and extensive hinterland areas are famous in the region, also the great Poitou plain with its wet and large moor areas are popular with visitors and “explorers”. A spacious nature reserve was built here to protect the environment and nature.

The Poitou-Charentes region is also known for its vineyards and wheat cultivation. The large fields and vineyards are a real feast for the eyes, especially in the late summer months when they bear plenty of fruit and are about to be harvested. The landscapes are often used as a postcard motif. The region is often associated with the attributes of tranquility and joie de vivre.
The past centuries and their cultures have left their marks and traces here. There are numerous monasteries and churches with Romanesque influence throughout the region. Feudal fortresses, fortified villages and Renaissance castles can be found almost everywhere here.

Provence-Alpes-C te d Azur (France)

At the touristically attractive Mediterranean coastis the French region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. The capital is Marseille, the region consists of the departments Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Aples-Maritimes, Bouches-du-Rhone, Hautes-Alpes,Varand Vauculse.
The Mediterranean is the border in the south. Italy is the direct neighbor to the east of theregionand the mouth of the Rhone bounds Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur to the west. The north of the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region borders the French Alps.
The Côte d’Azur, which is also known as the French Riviera, and the Alps are very popular travel and vacation destinations for guests from all over the world.

History of the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region

When the program regions were set up in France in 1960, what is now the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region came into being. Corsica was ceded in 1970. In 1972 all 26 program regions received the status of the public establishment, which was placed under the management of a regional prefect. The decentralization laws in 1982 made it possible for citizens to vote for their own regional council just four years later. The additional powers vis-à-vis the central government in Paris have always been gradually expanded for the regions. This process continues to this day.

Culture and land of the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region

The Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region is one of the Alpi-Mediterraneo Euroregions. This is a European region that was created on July 10, 2006 by France and Italy. The aim of this alliance is to improve cross-border cooperation. The European region includes the Italian Piedmont, Liguria and Aostattal. The Rhone-Alpes and Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur regions are among them from the French side.

For most travelers and visitors, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur means beautiful, varied landscapes. But the province has more to offer than “just” wide beaches and hilly mountains. There are numerous sights here. The historical treasures of architecture are particularly hidden in the interior of the country. However, many tourists do not travel there simply because they are looking for the beaches of the Mediterranean Sea. This is definitely an advantage for those interested in culture and history, as it means that most of the buildings, monuments and museums are less overcrowded than one might think.

The numerous and very well-equipped hiking trails are ideal for sporty holidaymakers. These invite you to explore the landscapes and nature of the area. Many artists, such as Picasso and Renoir, were inspired by the impressive region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur.

The area around Nice is also highly recommended for excursions. This area is often visited by tourists, and there are numerous entertainment options in many areas. The particularly beautiful thing about this area is the wonderful panoramic view over the Mediterranean from the Alpine regions. The hiking trails are lined with forests, olive groves, fragrant flowers and vineyards.
the Citadel on the coast from 1557 has historic fortifications. The St. Pierre chapel is also worth seeing. In addition, Vallauris is an authentic little village in Provence, which is internationally recognized as a center of ceramic art.

Provence-Alpes-C te d Azur, France

You may also like...